Car Accident – September 29, 2012

I got in a car accident today. Pretty much a horrible ending to a horrible day. It’s like one thing after another.

I woke up at 3:30 this morning. 3:30AM! Do you know how early that is?!? I haven’t woken up that early since I worked at the hotel.

Anyway, today was my first day of training at this bakery that does farmer’s markets every weekend. They sent me with one of their top sellers to Hastings, an adorably small, quaint town near the water, to learn the basics and see if I liked it enough to work for them every Saturday. Well, after getting there 45 minutes early, the guy who was supposed to be driving finally showed up. After driving to New Paltz to pick up someone else and dropping them off in Suffern, the guy dropped me off in Hastings, where I met the man I’d be working with all day. He was super nice. We talked about his life in Chile, his kids, his jobs, etc; as well as my schooling, future career choice, family life, and so on. And I really liked the whole market feel, and interacting with different people, and customers saying they hoped to see me again next weekend. The only thing I didn’t like? It was F-R-E-E-Z-I-N-G! We’re talking around 40 degrees, with the wind chill from being right next to the water, which made it kind of miserable. And I didn’t even get to walk around for a little bit, because the guy I was working with kept leaving me to fend for myself while he shopped around and talked to the other vendors. Smart move.. NOT. Considering I didn’t know half the prices, and we were nonstop busy, he probably shouldn’t have left.

Anyways, I’m getting sidetracked. After getting everything all packed up, we headed back to the bakery. The owners weren’t there, so I had to call and tell them that I couldn’t take the job, saying that I didn’t have the time in my schedule for a second job.

Well.. it went even more downhill from there. I was driving to grab food before I headed to A’s when I skidded on this really curvy stretch of road, slick with rain, and after sideswiping a bush, hitting a tree, and sliding through someone’s lawn, I crashed in someone else’s lawn after doing a complete 360 spin through the road. Thankfully, a state trooper passed by a few minutes later, and, after about 20 minutes, drove me home. He told me that he talked to the people who’s lawns I drove through and they said they weren’t filing a claim, and that they were just glad that I was okay. The tow company is closed tomorrow, so I have to wait until Monday morning to find out the damage and costs. The cop said that he wasn’t sure if the tire was damaged, but that it definitely fell off the bead (or whatever it’s called) and that part of the rear bumper had become detached. My mother has to take me to work on Monday. I’m hoping that getting my car fixed doesn’t cost too much.

I was supposed to go to A’s today. Her mom’s boyfriend bought her Steak Bake tickets for her birthday, which were $100 each. So we missed out on that, and I feel horrible about it. And to top it all off, A had bought tickets to Pure Terror Scream Park, and was going to surprise me with it. Thankfully, she was able to sell those and get her money back.

However, between bouts of hysterical crying on both our parts, we had a good talk. She told me that my text to her last night almost made her cry. I had sent her a text as I was falling asleep, with 10 things that were on my mind that I wanted to tell her. She took a screenshot of it and posted it on instagram. She told me that a lot of people were commenting on it, saying that they were jealous or they wish their girl sent them things like that. It made me smile that she appreciates when I do small, simple things like that.

This lead into a discussion about us and what we are. Apparently we’ve officially been in a relationship since September 17th. I guess I missed that memo? Haha. I remember her saying that if we started dating on that day, that our 6 month anniversary would be on St. Patrick’s Day. And I was like, “Wait, I thought you weren’t my girlfriend? At least, that’s what you’ve been saying/acting like.” And she was like, “Not recently.” And I said, “So.. you’re admitting that you’re my girlfriend..?” And she goes, “I admitted that the night you met M and his fiance. Why do you think they were asking you all those questions?”

So, that’s it. A and I are finally, officially in a relationship. And despite the horrendous day I had, she made me smile like crazy, and I’m super giddy right now. It feels great to finally know 100% where I stand with her.

I seriously hope my car gets fixed ASAP, because I’m heading to A’s as soon as it’s done. I can’t stand being apart from her.

Leave a Reply

